Sunday Short Story Day

Had an excellent little mini-vacation to Arizona the last few days. Finalized some plans for how I intend to continue this blog that I’m kind of excited about. In the next couple few weeks I hope to relaunch it. I still post and repost various things on my Tumblr blog — mostly pictures — so keep an eye ever there if you care too.

In the meantime, I want to keep up with a couple things and this is still the best place to do that. My short story reading project is one of them. Here is what I read in the past week. Pretty heavy on the Daniel Woodrell stuff, as I took The Outlaw Album with me to finish. It was okay; I wish I hadn’t sprung for the hardcover edition. None of the stories really blew me away. I think I much prefer his novels by a wide, wide margin.

  1. Zed’s Dead, Baby by Eric Beetner from Pulp Ink (ebook) (02/05/2012)
  2. Your Mother Should Know by Allan Guthrie from Pulp Ink (ebook) (02/05/2012)
  3. Giganthomachy by Donald Ray Pollock from Knockemstiff (Anchor Books) (02/05/2012)
  4. The Thing Itself by Alethea Black from I Knew You’d Be Lovely (Broadway) (02/05/2012)
  5. How to Tell a Bird From Its Shadow by Ashley Rose Davidson from Whitefish Review (Issue #5) (02/06/2012)
  6. Taking the Long Way by Susan Ewing from Whitefish Review (Issue #5) (02/06/2012)
  7. Meltdown by Benjamin Percy from Refresh, Refresh (Graywolf) (02/06/2012)
  8. Swords of the Hills by Robert E. Howard from El Borak and Other Desert Adventures (Ballantine) (02/08/2012)
  9. Americca by Aimee Bender from Fantastic Women (Tin House) (02/08/2012)
  10. You Never Can Tell by Matthew C. Funk from Pulp Ink (ebook) (02/09/2012)
  11. Night Stand by Daniel Woodrell from The Outlaw Album (Little Brown) (02/10/2012)
  12. Two Things by Daniel Woodrell from The Outlaw Album (Little Brown) (02/10/2012)
  13. A Whole Lot of Rosie by Nigel Bird from Pulp Ink (ebook) (02/10/2012)
  14. The Horse in Our History by Daniel Woodrell from The Outlaw Album (Little Brown) (02/11/2012)
  15. Woe to Live On by Daniel Woodrell from The Outlaw Album (Little Brown) (02/11/2012)
  16. Dream Spot by Daniel Woodrell from The Outlaw Album (Little Brown) (02/11/2012)
  17. One United by Daniel Woodrell from The Outlaw Album (Little Brown) (02/11/2012)
  18. Returning the River by Daniel Woodrell from The Outlaw Album (Little Brown) (02/11/2012)
  19. The Parker Panic by Michael Stackpole from Murderous Magick (Stormwolf) (02/11/2012)

The Susan Ewing story from The Whitefish Review was excellent. That is an outstanding little quarterly digest thing that I urge anyone who hasn’t heard of it to check out. I’d love to get something in there one day. I also loved Ben Percy’s “Meltdown” story as well.

 

 

About Chris La Tray

Chris La Tray is a writer from Missoula, MT.

Posted on February 12, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Sounds like I need to get “The Outlaw Album”

  2. Happy to see some Pulp Ink on that list!

  3. I liked the Woodrell short collection so much, I used it for an essay in my MFA program. I love the way he portrays a variying sense of justice.

    Justice for me would be to be stranded on an island with no food. I’m exploding, my brother. I gotta stop taking the cannoli …

    • I think I’m a little tired of the whole “rural noir” trope that Woodrell tends to inhabit. A couple of the stories reached me, but most didn’t. I wasn’t looking too deep either, so possibly that’s my loss.

      Food is an evil mistress, isn’t she?

  4. I thought you were gone and here you are!

Leave a Reply

